Customer reviews for Philips Philips Sonicare FlexCare Platinum Sonic electric toothbrush FlexCare Platinum HX9170/10 3 modes, 3 intensities 2 brush heads With pressure sensor UV brush head sanitizer

Philips Philips Sonicare FlexCare Platinum Sonic electric toothbrush FlexCare Platinum HX9170/10 3 modes, 3 intensities 2 brush heads With pressure sensor UV brush head sanitizer

With nine unique brushing options, an intuitive pressure sensor and advanced brush head technology, the Philips Sonicare FlexCare Platinum toothbrush goes beyond traditional cleaning to deliver exceptional plaque removal and improved gum health.
Overall rating:
4.268 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(56 reviews) 56
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 56 reviews
5 Stars
37
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
2
1 Star
5
46 out of 5485%reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Philips Sonicare FlexCare Platinum Sonic electric toothbrush FlexCare Platinum HX9170/10 3 modes, 3 intensities 2 brush heads With pressure sensor UV brush head sanitizer
Review 1 for Philips Sonicare FlexCare Platinum Sonic electric toothbrush FlexCare Platinum HX9170/10 3 modes, 3 intensities 2 brush heads With pressure sensor UV brush head sanitizer
Customer avatar
From:Midland Park, NJ, USA
Gender:Female
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Staff Review:No
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product works great.

Posted4 February 2016
I had one of these previously and it just wore out.
I got this new one as a gift and I really like it.
I can feel the cleaning of my teeth and they feel cleaner when i am done.
I would highly recommend this product.
Prosworks great
Yes, I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Philips Sonicare FlexCare Platinum Sonic electric toothbrush FlexCare Platinum HX9170/10 3 modes, 3 intensities 2 brush heads With pressure sensor UV brush head sanitizer
Customer avatar
From:Sacramento, CA, USA
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Staff Review:No
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

What can I say?

Posted11 January 2016
My Philips Sonicare FlexCare Platinum Sonic electric toothbrush functions EXACTLY as it is supposed to. The variability offered by the MODES insures adequate cleaning no matter what! Very nice to still be able to find QUALITY in the marketplace!
Prosfunctions as expected
Consnothing at all
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Philips Sonicare FlexCare Platinum Sonic electric toothbrush FlexCare Platinum HX9170/10 3 modes, 3 intensities 2 brush heads With pressure sensor UV brush head sanitizer
Customer avatar
From:Leominster, Massachusetts
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Staff Review:No
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outstanding product

Posted8 January 2016
Recommended by my dentist and hygienist. Super cleaning. Fun to use. I should have had one years ago.
Prosoutstanding performance., easy to use.
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Philips Sonicare FlexCare Platinum Sonic electric toothbrush FlexCare Platinum HX9170/10 3 modes, 3 intensities 2 brush heads With pressure sensor UV brush head sanitizer
Customer avatar
From:Burlington, IA
Gender:Female
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Staff Review:No
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product is easy to use and has great features.

Posted8 January 2016
I purchased this product on the advice of my dentist, and am so glad I did. Before purchasing this product I used a regular toothbrush, but never felt like all my teeth got clean. After using this product for the first time, my teeth felt like they had been professionally cleaned. This is how my teeth feel each time I use this product. It has a long battery charge. I recently went on a trip and was gone for over a week, and never had to charge my toothbrush. I also love the sanitizing feature included with this model. I highly recommend this product.
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Philips Sonicare FlexCare Platinum Sonic electric toothbrush FlexCare Platinum HX9170/10 3 modes, 3 intensities 2 brush heads With pressure sensor UV brush head sanitizer
Customer avatar
From:Atlanta, GA, USA
Gender:Female
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:Less than a month
Staff Review:No
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Super Brush

Posted13 December 2015
I love my new Sonic Care. I had the basic Sonic Care for 9 years. Re-placed it with this new model when the battery died. This upgraded model is everything I had come to know and love about my Sonic Care toothbrush. In addition, I like the smaller brush, and I especially love the ultra violet cleaning station. The videos were especially helpful in showing me how to use it and care for it. Better than a manual. I also like that it's easier to keep clean than my old model.
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Philips Sonicare FlexCare Platinum Sonic electric toothbrush FlexCare Platinum HX9170/10 3 modes, 3 intensities 2 brush heads With pressure sensor UV brush head sanitizer
Customer avatar
From:New Bloomfield, PA 17068, USA
Gender:Female
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Staff Review:No
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

Posted1 December 2015
The sonic care electric toothbrush is an excellent product. Easy to use and to care for. At first when u use it it tickles but that sensation does go away after using it. I will recommend this product to my family and friends. It is most definitely worth the price you pay for it.
Proseasy to use, good price, gets your teeth very clean
Consno cons
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Philips Sonicare FlexCare Platinum Sonic electric toothbrush FlexCare Platinum HX9170/10 3 modes, 3 intensities 2 brush heads With pressure sensor UV brush head sanitizer
Customer avatar
From:Texarkana, AR, USA
Gender:Female
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:4-6 months
Staff Review:No
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great product

Posted16 November 2015
I also bought one for my sister who has never used an electric toothbrush (she is 75yo) and she said the vibration from the toothbrush "made her nose itch". However, she is adjusting and really likes it -- we love ours!
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Philips Sonicare FlexCare Platinum Sonic electric toothbrush FlexCare Platinum HX9170/10 3 modes, 3 intensities 2 brush heads With pressure sensor UV brush head sanitizer
Customer avatar
From:Lansdale Pa.
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Staff Review:No
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good

Posted12 November 2015
I just returned from my dentists office and they gave me an excellent report. They said my plaque problem was much improved.
Prosdentist reccomended
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Philips Sonicare FlexCare Platinum Sonic electric toothbrush FlexCare Platinum HX9170/10 3 modes, 3 intensities 2 brush heads With pressure sensor UV brush head sanitizer
Customer avatar
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:Over 2 years
Staff Review:No
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

2nd one of these I've owned.

Posted4 November 2015
Replaced same model we had previously for several years that was worn out. Tried another brand that was worthless, threw it away, and purchased same Phillips model as we had previously.
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Philips Sonicare FlexCare Platinum Sonic electric toothbrush FlexCare Platinum HX9170/10 3 modes, 3 intensities 2 brush heads With pressure sensor UV brush head sanitizer
Customer avatar
From:austin
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Staff Review:No
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

easy

Posted18 October 2015
well made and easy to use, I had a older model and this model is much nicer
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Philips Sonicare FlexCare Platinum Sonic electric toothbrush FlexCare Platinum HX9170/10 3 modes, 3 intensities 2 brush heads With pressure sensor UV brush head sanitizer
Customer avatar
From:Cleveland, OH, USA
Gender:Female
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:Less than a month
Staff Review:No
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very powerful

Posted17 October 2015
This is our second Phillips Sonicare Toothbrush. This is a very powerful brush with great features. Great for tarter and gum cleaning among a few.
The ultraviolet cleaning feature is what made me buy this model.
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Philips Sonicare FlexCare Platinum Sonic electric toothbrush FlexCare Platinum HX9170/10 3 modes, 3 intensities 2 brush heads With pressure sensor UV brush head sanitizer
Customer avatar
From:Milford, CT, USA
Gender:Female
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Staff Review:No
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This toothbrush is the best I've ever used

Posted1 October 2015
My daughter recommended this toothbrush, and I have been very happy with it. My teeth feel super clean after every brushing.
Proseasy to use
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Philips Sonicare FlexCare Platinum Sonic electric toothbrush FlexCare Platinum HX9170/10 3 modes, 3 intensities 2 brush heads With pressure sensor UV brush head sanitizer
Customer avatar
From:Connecticut, USA
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:Less than a month
Staff Review:No
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

If you are fond of your teeth, get this toothbrush!

Posted30 September 2015
I have been using a manual toothbrush for over 40 years and with the loss of some of my teeth and my gums in bad shape i decided to put in the investment to try and "save" the teeth i had left!
I have ot tell you in less than three weeks i have seen a dramatic difference in the health of my gums!
I believe that this toothbrush from Philips sonicare is the reason behind the succesful direction of my teeth and gum health.
Very easy to use and get used to, brush twice a day as recommended as well as flossing, and you too will see the difference, and cut down on costly dental bills!
Thank you Philips sonicare!
Proslove the quadrant cleaning timer
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Philips Sonicare FlexCare Platinum Sonic electric toothbrush FlexCare Platinum HX9170/10 3 modes, 3 intensities 2 brush heads With pressure sensor UV brush head sanitizer
Customer avatar
From:Franklin, WI, USA
Gender:Female
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Staff Review:No
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent toothbrush. You won't be disappointed

Posted22 September 2015
This is my second Sonicare toothbrush. Had the first one for over 12 years and it was still working when I replaced it with the Flexcare Platinum. This one is sleek, easy to use even with all the different settings and my teeth haven't felt this clean just from brushing in a while. So I guess it was time to replace the old one. Each time I brush my teeth feel like I had just had a professional cleaning from the hygienist. Sure, it's a bit pricey, but I'd rather spend a little more to get a great product that will last for years to come. After using a coupon and sending in for the rebate I couldn't be happier.
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Philips Sonicare FlexCare Platinum Sonic electric toothbrush FlexCare Platinum HX9170/10 3 modes, 3 intensities 2 brush heads With pressure sensor UV brush head sanitizer
Customer avatar
From:Temple, TX, USA
Gender:Female
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Staff Review:No
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this product!

Posted2 September 2015
I love this Sonicare toothbrush. It's easy to use and has multiple options on how you want to brush your teeth. I really love the small head of the brush. I had another brand that had a rounded head, and I couldn't get it behind the teeth furthest back on the top of my mouth. This one easily cleans behind those teeth. I love the feature that alerts you if you are brushing too hard. I purchased this particular model, because of the UV sanitizer. Having periodontal disease, this option was very important to me. My teeth feel like I have just come from a cleaning at the dentist every time I brush.
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Philips Sonicare FlexCare Platinum Sonic electric toothbrush FlexCare Platinum HX9170/10 3 modes, 3 intensities 2 brush heads With pressure sensor UV brush head sanitizer
Customer avatar
From:Orlando, FL, USA
Gender:Female
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Staff Review:No
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Superb Quality

Posted28 August 2015
Outstanding performance! Love the timer! Would recommend to any one!
Yes, I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Philips Sonicare FlexCare Platinum Sonic electric toothbrush FlexCare Platinum HX9170/10 3 modes, 3 intensities 2 brush heads With pressure sensor UV brush head sanitizer
Customer avatar
From:Santa Ana, CA and Medford, OR
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:7-12 months
Staff Review:No
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Toothbrush

Posted27 August 2015
It was recommended by my Dentist. Does a thorough job, clean teeth and stimulates the gums. I've actually purchased several of these used them as Christmas presents to my friends, they also think they're great.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Philips Sonicare FlexCare Platinum Sonic electric toothbrush FlexCare Platinum HX9170/10 3 modes, 3 intensities 2 brush heads With pressure sensor UV brush head sanitizer
Customer avatar
From:Tampa, FL, USA
Gender:Female
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:Less than a month
Staff Review:No
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mouth feels Clean & Fresh

Posted16 May 2015
I purchased the FlexCare model 1 week ago and love it. The timer feature is great, I never timed my brushing before and realize I was skimping. I can tell the brush is reaching areas that have been problems for me in the past, so I'm anxious for my next dental checkup to see how much healthier my teeth and gums are after using the Sonicare. I like that it has a Sensitivity setting, having never used an electronic toothbrush I need to ease into the experience.
Prostimer feature, sensitivity setting
Consnothing yet....
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Philips Sonicare FlexCare Platinum Sonic electric toothbrush FlexCare Platinum HX9170/10 3 modes, 3 intensities 2 brush heads With pressure sensor UV brush head sanitizer
Customer avatar
From:LA
Gender:Female
Age:Over 50
Staff Review:No
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

I have this since Christmas. Mine went "crazy" in March.

Posted1 May 2015
I have this since Christmas. Mine went "crazy" in March. The motor stopped during use and restarted again. It also vibrated/started up when I was done using it. It won't charge either. I have never used the UV Sanitizer. I also found it a bit complicated to understand the different modes.
I intend to take it back my retailer. They will give me my money back.
I had one of their cheap models that lasted over ten years. I don't like this one and will not buy it again.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Philips Sonicare FlexCare Platinum Sonic electric toothbrush FlexCare Platinum HX9170/10 3 modes, 3 intensities 2 brush heads With pressure sensor UV brush head sanitizer
Customer avatar
From:Eagan, MN, USA
Gender:Female
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:Over 2 years
Staff Review:No
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good product, read the warranty

Posted2 April 2015
This is the second Sonicare I've gotten. I chose the model with the UV cleaner, but after about 18-20 months the UV portion just quit. Thinking the warranty was for one year, as most for these types of products are, I figured I was just out of luck. Recently I was looking at the warranty and discovered it was for two years. I could have gotten it replaced (maybe, other reviewers report problems with Phillips honoring the warranty) if I had known.
The small travel charger is nice. The brush works well, but frequently I accidentally turn it off during the cycle because my thumb is so close to the button. Overall it is really good for gum health.
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>